New to VFF

I am new to this barefoot idea.  Before VFFs I wore shoes up until I went to bed.  I bought some size 41 KSO treks a few weeks ago.  I measured my foot at 10.5 and after having these on for about an hour my feet were numb and my toes did feel crammed.  After wearing them I did notice that my two toes next to the big toe are the largest.  Bad measuring on my part since I was measuring to my big toe.  Anyway, I returned them and got a size 42 and my feet don't go numb anymore. 

For me just having these shoes on and doing normal activities, even just sitting around in them at work, the shoes seem to be giving my toes a work out.  I am not sure if it is the toe separation or what.  I have noticed the balls of my feet are tender while walking.  I believe my right foot is weaker than my left foot.  In my right foot I notice my achilles gets sore.  I notice my quads being worked and even my hips, calves, shins.  Most of the soreness or feeling of being worked comes from the right foot and leg.  Also both pinky toes are saying to me, "what is this that you are doing to me?!" :)  The most I wear these is 4 hours a day so far.  I have been wearing these shoes for almost 2 weeks now.  They do seem to be getting more comfortable the more I wear them.  Also to me it seems like my feet get more of a work out wearing these shoes than sitting around and walking around the house barefoot.  I am not sure if that is because the toes are raised and separated while in the VFF.