Does anyone else have a job that they are on their feet for 8+ hrs?

Now that it's warming up again here in Omaha, I want to start wearing my VFF's or possibly buy a pair Merrell Barefoots for work. I'm just worried about how I'll feel after 8hrs on my feet. Does anyone have any experience? I have run for an hour, and taken short hikes in mine, but never that long on my feet.

Comments

• I'm a filmmaker and I've used VFFs on set a lot this year.  Just this past weekend I had 3 10+ hour days in a row, with one of them being a 16hour day in my brown leather treks.  The other days were in KSOs. 

I won't work without them. Ofcourse your gonna have sore feet and joints after that long on your feet, but compared to what its like in regular shoes...its way way way better.

• They will be sore for a while but both my wife and I wear ours to work.  There are days I'm in meetings on my butt all day and others of 10-14 hours on the shop floor.  My wife is the medical field and on hers all day.  I'll deal with the soreness over the leg and back pain we both had prior to going the VFF route.  I had more foot pain wearing other shoes with "gell" insoles.  I seriously wasn't gellin.....  It's totally counter intuitive.
  • I have worn my for 8+hrs walking around Disney and standing in line. My feet hurt a little, but now that I try to wear them every chance. It wont be that bad. Wearing them so much has made my combat boots hurt more :P
  • I wore them (Sprints) for my cleaning jobs 5-8hrs of constant moving on my feet. By the end of the day my feet would be sore, like the rest of me, but never anything a bath and a night's sleep didn't relieve. My knees and back gave me much less trouble than a day of bending and moving and lugging things up and down stairs in regular shoes. And my feet wouldn't be sore the next day, which is more than I can say for wearing regular shoes because my toes would always be sore for at least a day after a full day in sneakers.