Heel pain, what am I possibly doing wrong?

I've just started running again and have been wearing VFF's exclusivley for a little under a month now. Starting about 3 days agao I have strated to get some lower heel pain. It goes all arounf my heeel liek a horse shoe shape imagine and is at the very base where the foot curves under to meet sole. ({ sorry if this isn't a great description}) I have done really short distances ( around  BLOCK OR 2 near ym home) and not all that often - 3 times so far, so I think the pain is just from wearing them, but it just crept up on me, anyone have any suggestions?

Comments

• I'm no doctor, but what you are describing sounds to me like the beginnings of Plantar Fasciitis.  I struggle with this too, and haven't found or heard of a way to make it go away except not running for 6 months.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plantar_fasciitis

However, ways to help it that I have learned...

1) find a golf ball or other small hard ball and roll the sore spots of your foot on it...this helps relieve some of the pain.
    2) do calf stretches - best I can tell is that because barefoot running involves a lot of work from your calves, I think sometimes they end up getting tight, which then tightens the ligaments in the foot. 

I am curious too for what advice others have...some talk about getting rid of plantar fasciitis with the barefoot running...but I feel like mine got worse with it...
  • In addition to the two things pedalpavementpounder recommended, I also suggest using your toes to pick up golf balls and, if you can, tennis balls.  That helped me when I had a flare-up of PF.

In some instances, if you're new minimalist running, PF will appear because you're doing too much too soon and if you're also heel striking.  I suggest working more on form, especially shorteer strides, and also not doing too many miles per week or increasing your mileage more than 5% per week.