Toe hole on Vibram fixed!

I just wanted to share my experience with you guys on how I managed to sew up a hole on my Vibram TrekSport.

I've been wearing the TrekSport every day for 8 months so far, doing pretty much everything with them. Where they get the most beaten up is during trail running, despite all the beatings they get, they are still standing strong. I even used them while trying to put out a farm fire that went out of control. They are heavy duty, hardcore durable shoes, especially the Vibram rubber, no doubt about it, but the top mesh is just a thin sock-like cloth, and it will not last forever. Eventually, the right shoe developed a hole on the side of the big toe. Look at the pictures on how I sew it up.

The materials I used were: 1) Gray colored sewing thread (fortunately the fabric used in this Vibram model is not stretchy, thus the sewing thread is not going to create discomfort or any problem for that matter). 2) The thinnest needle I could find in my house. 3) Scotch tape to get the other toes out of the way.

You can see how the finished product looks like. You can hardly notice any stitching. I attached an image of my left shoe (notice the weak, thin fabric on the side of the big toe). By the way, I expect sooner than later to find a hole on the side of the big toe. If it tears, I’ll give it a quick stitch like I did with the right shoe. I stitched the right shoe pretty solid so I'm guessing it'll last for at least 5 to 7 months until it gets unstitched. The cause of the hole was the friction created by the rubber from the second toe against the side of the big toe (by the constant flexing of my toes while running).