barefoot shoes for work?

I love wearing my five fingers but at work I cant wear them. I am a mechanic and currently just wear tennis shoes. I used to wear work boots but got to where my feet were just killing me, as I stand most of the day on concrete floor. I cant wear the five fingers, are there barefoot shoes you guys could recommend to me I could wear at work?

Comments

• Merrell could work or FütGlove (Although I would be cautious with size selection and the fact that they sell them in non-identical size pairs)
    Try Merrell first, but if you want the toe seperation, FütGlove (but with caution)
  • What type of shoes would be considered acceptable in your work?
  • Lems would be fine.  Otherwise Vivobarefoot are another solid option.  I think it depends on what criteria, if any, exists set by your employer. 
  • Well, Im around oil, coolant , and fluids alot so the very thin top sole like a five finger wouldnt keep me from coming home with oil soaked feet very well. My boss doesnt like the toe shoes, not a rule, he just doesnt like the look of them for customers. I know, I know but whatever. I wear tennis shoes now. They are pretty much worn out anyway so im thinking about grinding the sole off them and seeing if I can make them into more barefoot shoes. Has anyone done this?
    Anymore ideas on other shoes?
  • on 1395880983:

Well, Im around oil, coolant , and fluids alot so the very thin top sole like a five finger wouldnt keep me from coming home with oil soaked feet very well. My boss doesnt like the toe shoes, not a rule, he just doesnt like the look of them for customers. I know, I know but whatever. I wear tennis shoes now. They are pretty much worn out anyway so im thinking about grinding the sole off them and seeing if I can make them into more barefoot shoes. Has anyone done this?
    Anymore ideas on other shoes?