Hey from NYC!

Hey everyone! Just stumbled upon this site, dunno how I never saw it before!

I've been wearing various barefoot shoes for about 10 years now, since I picked up the first Vivo Barefoot slip-ons. My feet have gotten so used to minimal footwear that anything with any sort of rise feels like Herman Munster shoes. I haven't found anything suitable for winter, and my waterproof luck has been sketchy ever since the demise of my first-generation brown leather New Balance Minimus. I'm mostly urban, living in NYC (prior in LA). I walk a few miles a day. And I'm a bartender, thankfully in a low-danger bar where I can wear minimal shoes all day.

A rundown of all the minimal (and supposedly-minimal) shoes I can remember owning...

Vivo Barefoot, first gen. The black slip-ons. Game changer. Not that great of shoes, but at the time it was mind blowing.

Merrell Trail Glove, first gen. Gray and yellow. Still one of the best fits. I've worn the sole through.

New Balance Minimus, first gen. Brown leather. Probably my favorite shoe ever. Great fit (maybe not the best, but rather good), and very classy. Wore these to both formal and casual occasions. Lasted a LOT of miles of city walking. Was friendly in the rain as long as puddles weren't too deep.

Five Fingers, KSO. I had two pairs, the godawful-looking gray and light green, and a gray camo. I absolutely love how these feel. Nothing compares to the sensation of walking down stairs with grippy toes. But I got rid of them. They're just too dangerous for a crowded, hard-object-abundant environment. I kept stubbing my toes, and think I almost broke them a couple times. Excellent shoes but just not practical for me

New Balance Minimus Zero. Black with blue. Very comfortable, like wearing almost nothing. Not at all durable, started to tear after a week.